Movember Update: Day 4

I won’t make this a daily dish, but I just wanted to give a quick update on my adventures in facial follicular fashion. Despite what some might say, I do actually have a few mustache whiskers coming in. They’re short and stubbly, but with 26 days of growth left in the month, who knows what they’ll end up looking like.

Movember Day 4

Day 4, The 'Stache is Starting to Show. Photo: HDHubby.com

I often think about why I’m doing this. There are a couple reasons I’m not: for self-promotion, for rebellious reasons, for my upcoming audition as Tom Selleck’s body double. Despite my wife not really understanding why I would decide to grow a mustache out of the blue, the real reason is clear: because it’s an easy way to bring light to a really horrible disease.

1 out of every 6 American men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer at some point in their life. 1 out of 6! Look around you…see that guy over there, running papers to the fax machine? The man refilling his soda? The guy who just bumped you with his bag putting it into the overhead bin? Yeah, there’s a very real chance he will get prostate cancer. In my office right now, there are six guys (including the UPS guy)…you got it, one of us…someday…

I’m putting my foot down. Rather, I’m putting my razor down. For the rest of November, I won’t shave my upper lip. It’s a small sacrifice, but it’s a symbolic one. By donating my lip to prostate cancer research, I’m saying that I support the sixth man. He needs to know that we’re going to do what we can to help, even if it means we just miss a few more spots when we shave.

However, I can’t do this alone. I need your help. Please visit http://mobro.co/davesniadak and consider donating a few dollars to the #Movember Movement, the organization behind this initiative. Every penny helps in catching prostate cancer and giving it the swift kick in the, well, you know what, it deserves. Thank you for your support!

This entry was posted in fundraising and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

