Movember: Day 14 Update

It’s amazing how doing something as simple as growing a mustache can make a guy feel like he’s contributing to a global cause. I’m 14 days into my own #Movember Movement and while some would say my ‘stache isn’t anything to write home about, it sure feels great knowing what these prickly little whiskers mean.

Movember: Day 14 © HDHubby.com

Movember: Day 14

By growing out the hair on my upper lip, I’m telling the world that I’m standing with my fellow man. My mother in law recently asked why I was doing it, and I said because between the six closest men in her life – her husband, two sons, two sons-in-law and her grandson – one of us, at some point in our lives, will be diagnosed with prostate cancer. It’s a scary thought, but one that we can’t just shave away in the morning.

Another great “whisker witness” moment for me happened last week. I was traveling back from Sarasota, Florida, sitting next to a lady on her way to Baton Rouge, Louisiana. She asked what I did for work. We talked and then she asked about my ‘stache. “That’s not something you see on a man your age,” she said. I then went on to tell her about the #Movember Movement and the reason I was attempting to grow a mustache. She joked that for being 11 days in, my ‘stache was pretty weak.

You know what’s weak? Not doing something about prostate cancer. I’m honored to grow my ‘stache – however thin and frail it may look – for the men who don’t have a choice against cancer. I could really use your help this month. Please consider donating a few bucks to my fundraising page – http://mobro.co/davesniadak

This entry was posted in fundraising and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Movember: Day 14 Update

  1. Great cause. And that ‘stache is totally groovy!

Leave a Reply

