HDH: Polaroid Returns to Offer Video “Cubed”

The new Polaroid Cube | HDHubby.com

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m “Mr. Adventure”. My days involve leaping tall buildings (made of Legos), lifting (Matchbox) cars off (stuffed) kittens, and doing battle against my sworn enemy…the dishes! Okay, so I may not be the ideal man to test out Polaroid’s new CUBE HD Action Camera, but I have two partners in fun that are.

photo 2When Polaroid asked me to do a review of this new action camera, I jumped at the chance. That said, when I got home from work to discover the camera had actually arrived, I found my kids had already mastered the camera and were teaching ME how to operate it.

Not that it’s difficult to operate,
mind you. The camera is designed to be idiot proof – which could also mean “Dad proof” – with single button controls atop a small, cube-shaped camera wrapped in a smooth rubber casing. Polaroid even added their signature rainbow stripe to give it a nice, iconic feel. The camera boasts impressive specs – a 124-degree wide angle lens, 1080p HD video, 90 minutes of operation on a single charge. A magnet built into the camera’s base allows it to stick on just about anything metal (though I would recommend investing in some of the available mounting options before strapping this puppy to any high-speed vehicles). The Cube doubles as a still camera for when your DSLR, tablet or iPhone simple won’t do…

photo 4My biggest question before taking on the Cube Challenge was to determine if this camera could replace my GoPro. Many have tried, many more have failed, taking on the Godfather of Action Cameras. But if what my kids thought, as well as this 14-year video professional, is any indication, I’d say Polaroid took a good gamble and delivered an excellent entry level action camera.

For around $100 USD, you can get your hands on one of these and trust that it will capture great memories without breaking the bank. If you’re goal is to get your kids something cool to stuff their stockings this holiday season, I give the Polaroid Cube a High Def Hubby High Five!

Looking for a kid friendly action camera? Consider the Polaroid Cube. Simple, durable, great results. | Copyright HDHubby.com

Looking for a kid friendly action camera? Consider the Polaroid Cube. Simple, durable, great results. | Copyright HDHubby.com

 

Editor’s Note: Polaroid provided a Cube HD Action Camera for us to test. We received no additional compensation for this review.

This entry was posted in Product Review, video production and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HDH: Polaroid Returns to Offer Video “Cubed”

  1. Pingback: Back in the Saddle… | The HD Hubby

Leave a Reply

